Friday, May 14, 2021

Exeter-Milligan Celebrates Honors Night

Members of the Exeter-Milligan chapter of the National Honor Society are pictured.  Front row from the left: Daisy Kanode, Cameran Jansky, Jaiden Papik, Emma Olsen, Georgia Meyer, Natalie Staskal, Cammie Harrison, Jozie Kanode and Morgan White.  Back row from the left: Brock Steuben, Jackson Beethe, Daysan Staskal, Clint Oldehoeft, Ben Bartu and Braden Capek.

Members inducted into the Exeter-Milligan chapter of the National Honor Society are pictured.  Front row from the left: Jozie Kanode, Cameran Jansky, Emma Olsen, and Morgan White.  Back row from the left: Daysan Staskal, Ben Bartu and Braden Capek.

Jaiden Papik, far right, receives a Crossroads conference silver medal presented by Exeter-Milligan Principal Laura Kroll (middle).  Guidance Counselor Denice Kovanda announced the final awards during honors night.


Clint Oldehoeft closes the honors night program.

Exeter-Milligan held their annual honors night on Tuesday, May 4 in the Exeter gym.

Jaiden Papik welcomed the crowd before initiating the National Honor Society Induction.  Current NHS members presented the tennets of the society and all current and new members recited the NHS pledge. 

New members include juniors Ben Bartu, Braden Capek, Cameran Jansky and Emma Olsen.  Sophomores inducted were Jozie Kanode, Daysan Staskal and Morgan White.

Mrs. Denice Kovanda, NHS advisor, noted that the juniors who were inducted were not given the opportunity to be inducted last year due to COVID 19 but their membership will be retroactive to their sophomore year.

Miss Phyllis Severson talked about the math opportunities the students participated in this year and recognized those participating in competitions.

Mr. Jordan Marr talked about the successes of the junior high and the high school quiz bowl teams.

Mrs. Angie Murphy recognized the 42 participant in the junior/senior high band. She presented the Senior Choral award to Blake Meyer.  The John Phillip Sousa Award outstanding senior was given to Jaiden Papik.

Murphy presented the outstanding eight grade band member to Kierra Papik.  Before Murphy could sit down several of the senior band members thanked her for her many years of service and presented her with a beautiful plant.

Murphy went back to the podium and thanked the students, “I have truly enjoyed all of my time here.  I hate to leave them, I really love them.  I love what I do, I want to go out loving it.”

Mrs. Valerie Barnhart recognized the speech team member Troy Kallhoff who took first at districts this year in extemporaneous speech and excelled in other speech opportunities despite COVID restrictions.

Mrs. MaryLou Vossler introduced the Family Career and Community Leaders of America participants and officers.  She briefly reviewed the service projects the group has participated in this year.  She also presented Daisy Kanode with the gold medal she received at state for her Level three Profession Presentation on Elder Abuse.  Kanode will compete at the National level virtually.

Two eighth graders, Jayden Capek and Liberty Johnson, were recognized by UNL as Big Red Stars.

High GPA awards were given to seventh graders Brett Kallhoff and Kiley Oldehoeft (tied), eight grader Kierra Papik, ninth grader Troy Kallhoff, tenth grader Morgan White, eleventh grader Braden Capek and twelfth grader Jaiden Papik.

Kovanda and her assistant, Principal Laura Kroll, also presented the citizenship awards.  Ben Bartu received the American Legion Citizenship award, Daisy Kanode received the American Legion Auxiliary Citizenship award.  The all school citizenship award was given to Troy Kallhoff.

The final awards presented for the evening were presented to Jaiden Papik.  She was chosen as a UNL Believers and Achievers, received a Crossroads Conference Silver ACT award and was voted the Neil Hassler Outstanding Senior.

Door prizes were drawn for the students attending the honors night program.


No comments: