Friday, June 26, 2015

Exeter Public Hosts Patriotic Story Hour

The Exeter Public Library is having a special story hour to celebrate the 4th of July. Kids grades K-3 are invited to the library to hear a story, do some crafting and check out the library’s selection of patriotic books. This story hour is to be held at the library on Thursday, July 2 at 2 p.m. Patriotic attire is encouraged!

Timberwolves 14 and Under team SLS League Champs

Congratulations to the Timberwolf 14 and under team on their win in the High School Silver Bracket.
Back row (left to right):  Coach Mark Beethe, Alexis Uldrich, Haidley Weimer, Katherine White, Tori Stoldorf, Janey Erdkamp, Hannah Horne, and Coach Allen Vavra.
Front row (left to right): Josie Kresak, Anna Sluka, Hannah Beethe, Jaiden Kleinschmidt, Kaitlyn Vavra and Kalisha Gergen.

Wednesday, June 24, 2015

Exeter-Milligan Student Chosen as Big Red Star

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln honored seven local eighth graders for their academic excellence, leadership and perseverance on April 28 at the Leid Center for Performing Artrs in Lincoln.  James Becker of Exeter-Milligan was among those honored for their strong leadership skills and excellent grades.
The Big Red Stars program is designed to recognize outstanding eighth-grade students in Nebraska.  The students were nominated by school prinicpals for showcasing strong leadership skills and academic promise and was awarded at a ceremony sponsored by UNL and EducationQuest.
Highlights of the event included individual recognition and awards and special remarks from Dr. Helen Abdali Soosan Fagan, a leadership scholar from UNL.

Tuesday, June 23, 2015

Exeter-Milligan Coach Honored by Lincoln Journal Star

Exeter-Milligan's Football and Basketball Coach Dean Filipi was honored by the Lincoln Journal Star as the Boy's Coach of the Year in the Sunday, June 21 Stars of the Show insert in the LJS.  Congratulations to Coach Filipi.

Monday, June 22, 2015

Area Students on UNL Dean's List

The University of Nebraska-Lincoln has announced its Deans' List and Honor Roll for the spring semester of the 2014-15 academic year.

Qualification for the Deans' List varies among the eight undergraduate colleges and the Honor Roll for undeclared students. Listed below are the minimum requirements for each entity and the name of its respective dean or director. All qualifying grade-point averages are based on a four-point scale and a minimum of 12 or more graded semester hours. Students can be on the Deans' List for more than one college.

College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, 3.75; Dean Steven F. Waller.
College of Architecture, top 10 percent of the students in the college; Interim Dean Kim Wilson.
College of Arts and Sciences, 3.7; Dean Joseph Francisco.
College of Business Administration, 3.6; Dean Donde Plowman.
College of Education and Human Sciences, 3.75; Dean Marjorie Kostelnik.
College of Engineering, 3.5; Dean Tim Wei.
College of Journalism and Mass Communications, 3.7; Dean Maria Marron.
Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts, 3.7; Dean Charles O'Connor.
Honor Roll for undeclared students, 3.6; Director of Undergraduate Education Nancy Mitchell.

Exeter: Kelsey Marie Moore , senior, Dean's List, College of Business Administration, management (human resource management).
Exeter: Erica Christine Yound , freshman, Dean's List, College of Business Administration, business administration.

Milligan: Jennifer Kay Pribyl , junior, Dean's List, College of Business Administration, actuarial science.