Monday, May 15, 2023

Exeter-Milligan Honors Night

Exeter-Milligan held their annual honors night on Tuesday, May 9 in the Exeter gym.

Student Council President Olivea Swanson welcomed the crowd before school guidance counselor Denice Kovanda initiated the National Honor Society induction.  Current NHS members presented the tenants of the society and all current and new members recited the NHS pledge. 

New members include sophomores Mikey Bartu, Kmila Benitez, Jayden Capek, Liberty Johnson, Kierra Papik, Aidan Vavra and Joleen Vossler. 

The evening continued as the teachers gave out awards and recognition from their department events. Mrs. Mary Kay Pribyl began by introducing the students who participated in UNL Math Day and Harvard Math Day before Miss Phyllis Severson talked about the junior high Thayer Central math competition and she also recognized the students participating in Actions Day. 

Mrs. Brandi Perez identified the journalism students and talked about their efforts on both the school newsletter and the yearbook. The students were also able to participate in a Nebraska Press Association workshop.

Mrs. Lisa Kanode recounted her students’ experience at the Hastings Mural Contest and then honored the art students along with the volunteers at Family Art Night and those whose artwork was displayed at the Capitol art show this year.  She presented the most improved artist award to Emma Meyer and the Artist of the Year to Kmila Benitez.

Mr. Jordan Marr talked about the successes of the junior high and the high school quiz bowl teams.  He also talked about the new fifth grade team that was formed this year. There were 14 junior high members competing and 15 high school members.  The high school “A” and “B” team ended up competing against each other in the ESU quiz bowl.  The “A” team just squeaked out a win.

Mr. Mark Perez recognized the choir members and the participants in the junior/senior high band. He presented the Directors award to Cohen Harre, the eighth grader with the most band points and the John Phillip Sousa Award outstanding senior was given to Jozie Kanode. Morgan White received the National School Choral Award.

Mrs. Kara Myers and Kovanda recognized the students who participated in one act this year.  It has been three years since the district participated in one act.

Next up were Myers and Mr. Brian Murphy who coached the speech team this year.  They opened their time at the podium with some duet acting which reviewed some highlights of the season.  Speech participants Troy Kallhoff and Morgan White qualified for State Speech this year.

Mrs. MaryLou Vossler introduced the Family Career and Community Leaders of America participants and officers.  She briefly reviewed the service projects the group has participated in this year which included a 5K run walk in July in which $1150 was donated to the Fillmore County Relay for Life along with the members working at the Rialto theatre.

Vossler also recognized Joleen Vossler with the gold medal she received at both district and state level for project on pedal safety.  She introduced the chapter officers for next year and also Kierra Papik who serves as a district officer.

Superintendent Paul Sheffield presented Vossler with a plaque from the Exeter-Milligan Booster club thanking her for her years of service to the district.

Kovanda along with Principal Laura Kroll presented some of the special awards including the Legion citizen of the year award to Jayden Capek with Olivea Swanson receiving the Legion Auxiliary citizen of the year award and Troy Kallhoff was given the all school citizenship award.

High GPA awards were given to sixth grader Brynnlye Johnson, seventh grader Deacon Erdkamp, eighth grader Cheyenne Krupicka, ninth grader Brett Kallhoff, tenth grader Jayden Capek, eleventh grader Troy Kallhoff, and twelfth grader Jozie Kanode.

To end the evening the seniors were presented their very generous scholarship packages. Student Council Vice President Morgan White thanked the attendees and closed the program.




No comments: