Monday, April 15, 2019

Exeter-Milligan Update: Murphy's Music Musings

CRC Honor Choir

(l-r) - Blake Meyer, Braden Capek, Katelyn Babula, Caitlin Murphy

Murphy’s Music Musings
By Angie Murphy, Exeter-Milligan K-12 Music Instructor

Exeter-Milligan was well-represented in the Crossroads Conference Honor Band and Honor Choir as well as at Class D All-State.  

The Crossroads Conference Honor Clinic was held at Centennial High School on Monday, March 18.  Four students performed in the choir and twenty students performed in the band. Several band members received first chair medals for their part. They included Kole Svec, first clarinet; Macy Due, first bass clarinet; Briana Capek, first tenor saxophone; Jaiden Papik, first trumpet; Trever Zelenka, second trumpet; Caitlin Murphy, first French horn; Josie Kresak, third French horn; Nick Hayek, first trombone; and Joel Klemm, first tuba.

Eighteen Exeter-Milligan band members participated in the Class D All-State Band on the UNK campus on Saturday, March 23.  Kayla Geiger was the lone E-M student in the Jazz Band and received a medal as the first alto saxophone player.  Seven students represented E-M in the Wind Ensemble, with three of them medaling. Those medaling were Briana Capek, first tenor saxophone; Caitlin Murphy, first French horn; and Josie Kresak, third French horn. Kole Svec, Theron Odovdy, Nick Hayek, and Peytan Brandt were also selected to the Wind Ensemble. Representing Exeter-Milligan in the Symphonic Band were Cammie Harrison, Macy Due, Trever Zelenka, Jaiden Papik, Mitchell Manning, Daisy Kanode, Clint Oldehoeft, Eli Johnson, Joel Klemm, and Braden Capek.


Above - CRC Honor Band
Row 1 (l-r) - Kayla Geiger, Cammie Harrison, Anna Sluka, Caitlin Murphy, Jozie Kanode
Row 2 (l-r) - Briana Capek, Kate Jansky, Josie Kresak, Jaiden Papik, Macy Due, Trever Zelenka, Kole Svec
Row 3 (l-r) - Theron Odvody, Nick Hayek, Mitchell Manning, Joel Klemm, Peytan Brandt, Spencer Pribyl, Eli Johnson, Clint Oldehoeft

Below - Class D All-State
Row 1 (l-r) - Nick Hayek, Cammie Harrison Briana Capek, Kole Svec, Daisy Kanode, Josie Kresak, Caitlin Murphy, Jaiden Papik, Macy Due, Kayla Gegier
Row 2 (l-r) - Braden Capek, Clint Oldehoeft, Joel Klemm, Peytan Brandt, Mitchell Manning, Eli Johnson, Trever Zelenka, Theron Odvody

No comments: