Sunday, May 13, 2018

Exeter-Milligan Recognizes Academic Honors

Members of the Exeter-Milligan National Honor Society are pictured after the induction ceremony.  Front row from the left are Hannah Beethe, Kaitlyn Vavra, Anna Sluka, Kayla Geiger and Macy Due.  Middle row from the left:  Kate Jansky, Alexis Uldrich, Kelsey Bigelow, Tara Mueller, Katherine White and Caitlyn Murphy.  Back row from the left Josie Kresak, Hannah Horne, Patrick Murphy, Spencer Pribyl, Mitchell Manning, Nick Hayek, Eric Olsen, Joey Bartu, and Trever Zelenka.

– Inducted in the National Honor Society at Exeter-Milligan this year were: Anna Sluka, Kayla Geiger, Caitlin Murphy, Nick Hayek and Joey Bartu.

Michael Morris with SENCAP (Southeast Nebraska Career Academy Partnership) presented (l-r) Patrick Murphy, Hannah Horne and Kelsey Bigelow with certificates for having three of the top ten websites in the area.  Murphy was also honored as the top SENCAP student in the region of eight schools.

 Exeter-Milligan Jr. Sr. High Band members pose with their Superior plaque from District Music Contest.

The Crossroads Conference recognized students with medals in their performance on the ACT this year.  From the left are Hannah Horne (bronze), Alexis Uldrich (bronze), Kelsey Bigelow (silver) and Patrick Murphy (gold).

Patrick Murphy received the Neil Hassler Outstanding Senior Award from Mrs. Kroll.

Exeter-Milligan recognized the outstanding accomplishments of their students during Honors Night on Monday, May 7.

First, Exeter-Milligan inducted five more students into the prestigious National Honor Society.  Joel Klemm welcomed the audience before turning over the program to the National Honor Society.  Patrick Murphy, along with current members of the Society introduced the mission of the organization.

Inducted into the National Honor Society this year were Anna Sluka, Kayla Geiger, Caitlin Murphy, Nick Hayek and Joey Bartu.

After the ceremony each department at Exeter-Milligan had the opportunity to review the academic year and recognize the outstanding students in their subject.

Michael Morris, from the Southeast Nebraska Career Academy Program (SENCAP) was present to recognize three seniors who ranked in the top ten in the program for the website they created.  Patrick Murphy, Kelsey Bigelow and Hannah Horne were recognized and Murphy was recognized as the top SENCAP student in the region of eight area schools.

Math teacher Miss Severson took the podium and she recognized the students who participated in Actions day along with the awards they earned.  After she shared about the junior high math contest she introduced the students who participated in UNL Math Day. Severson introduced the annual staff.

Mr. Marr introduced the members of the junior and senior high quiz bowl teams.  Marr presented the four year senior letter winners Hannah Horne and Patrick Murphy with a special briefcase.

Mrs. Murphy, band and vocal instructor, gave the audience a brief review of the year’s music events.  The highlight of the year was the band receiving a superior ranking from all three judges at the district music contest.  Braden Capek was given the Director’s award with the most band points for an eighth grader and Hannah Horne received the Louis Armstrong Jazz Award for her contributions to the Exeter-Milligan jazz band.
Murphy presented Kaitlyn Vavra with the Semper Fidelis award with the second highest amount of letter points with Hannah Horne receiving the John Phillips Sousa award for the most letter points in band.

Mrs. Barnhart recognized the students who participated in one-act play production and speech.  Caitlin Murphy, a member of the speech team, placed at state this year.  Also recognized were the students who participated in a patriotism essay contest by the American Legion Auxiliary.  Natalie Staskal received first place in the competition.

Mrs. Vossler gave an overview of the Family Career Community Leaders of America activities for the year.  The group was busy with roadside cleanup, a Valentine’s dance, their food collection at Halloween, along with their district and state conferences.  FCCLA also had several STAR projects qualify for the state competition this year.

Mrs. Kanode presented the art awards, recognizing the students who had won at different competitions and those who were instrumental in making the Family  Art Night a success.  She presented Alexis Uldrich with the artist of the year award.

Mrs. Kovanda and Mrs. Kroll presented the highest GPA awards to each grade 7 – 12.  For the seventh grade, Marcus Krupicka, eighth grade was Braden Capek, ninth grade was Jaiden Papik, tenth grade was Caitlin Murphy, eleventh grade was Joel Klemm and twelfth grade was Patrick Murphy.

They also presented the Citizenship awards from the American Legion and Auxiliary to Tara Mueller and Joey Bartu.  Derek Axline received the All School Citizenship award and Patrick Murphy was recognized as the Neil Hassler Outstanding Senior.

After presenting the citizenship awards Mrs. Kovanda presented the seniors with their scholarship packets before Mitchell Manning closed the evening.


No comments: