Friday, December 22, 2017

Exeter-Milligan Update: Music Department

All-State 2017
Each year, approximately 3000 of the best high school musicians in the state audition for the Nebraska All-State Band, Chorus, Jazz Band and Orchestra which are sponsored by the Nebraska Music Educators Association. Selection as a member of one of these groups is one of the highest music honors attainable in Nebraska. Caitlin Murphy, a French horn player from Exeter-Milligan High School, was among the 165 students selected to be a part of the 2017 All-State Band. Guest conductor for the group was  Dr.Erica J. Neidlinger, she is Associate Professor and conductor of the Wind Symphony at DePaul University.  The all-state band rehearsed November 16-18, on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus, the host site of the 2016 NMEA Conference/ Clinic. The final public concert was held on Saturday, November 18th at the Lied Center for the Performing Arts on the University of Nebraska-Lincoln campus.

Participation 2017 - 
Exeter-Milligan High School was awarded a plaque at the Nebraska Music Educator’s Association convention on Friday, November 17, in Lincoln, Nebraska. The plaque reads “For excellence in the areas of student involvement, course curricula offerings, and recruitment/retention, the Nebraska Music Education Association proudly recognizes Exeter-Milligan High School for outstanding High School Participation.”  Exeter-Milligan received level 3 noteworthy recognition for having 58% of the high school participate in band and choir.  This is the third year in a row that E-M has earned this award.  Row 1 L-R - Cammie Harrison, Jaiden Papik, Katie Mounce, Kayla Geiger Anna Sluka, Kaitlyn Vavra, Janey Erdkamp, Caitlin Murphy; Row 2 L-R - Blake Meyer, Casey Jindra, Theron Odvody, Trever Zelenka, Kate Jansky, Alexis Uldrich, Josie Kresak, Hannah Horne, Katherine White, Georgia Meyer; Row 3 L-R - Brock Steuben, Joey Bartu, Mitchell Manning, Eli Johnson, Patrick Murphy, Peytan Brandt, Spencer Pribyl, Blake Steuben, Joel Klemm, Clint Oldehoeft; Not pictured - Macy Due, Daisy Kanode, Nick Hayek

No comments: