Wednesday, June 15, 2011

ODEGO Leadership Graduates

Front Left to Right: Mary Johnson, Shawnie Manthei, Kelly Nun, Kendra Jansky

Middle Left to Right:  Kim Slezak, Norman Marks, Christin Lovegrove, Susan Johnson, Shari Michl

Back row:  Todd Boller, Tyler Daly, Andrew Ley, John Wilkins, Marty Peppard

Odegeo. . . Leadership for Fillmore County Holds Graduation

The 2010-2011 Odegeo. . .Leadership for Fillmore County participants graduated from the nine-month leadership course on June 10th. The event was held in the community room of Heritage Crossings in Geneva.

The speaker for the graduation was Dr. Richard Dudley, the former head of the Education Department at Doane College in Crete. He talked about the “skunk in the middle of the road” who doesn’t think past one answer to a problem. Leaders, however, work with others, get the facts, and determine a workable solution.

Rhonda Stokebrand introduced the graduates of the 2010-2011 Odegeo leadership class and their sponsors.
Todd Boller Fillmore County-Weed Dept
Katie Chaney Chaney Chemical
Brandie Conway Fillmore County-Sheriff Dept
Kendra Jansky Farmers and Merchants Bank

Tyler Daly Geneva State Bank

Mary Johnson Fillmore County Development Corp
Susan Johnson Edward Jones Investments
Andrew Ley Walter Insurance
Christin Lovegrove Heinisch Law Office
Shawnie Manthei M-C Industries/SunflowerMarketing
Norman Marks Self Sponsorship
Shari Michl Fillmore County Hospital
Kelly Nun York State Bank

Marty Peppard Fillmore County Hospital

Kim Slezak PC Nuts
Valerie Turner City of Geneva
John Wilkins Geneva State Bank

As each member received their plaque from on or the members of the Fillmore County Development Corporation (FCDC) Leadership Committee they gave a statement of what the Leadership sessions had given them. They then stated how they will use the knowledge and skills they learned to get involved in their community, work on an issues, run for office or serve on a board.

Amy Nelson, FCDC Leadership Development Committee member, recognized the 36 Fillmore County businesses who had helped sponsor lunches and snacks during the leadership sessions as well as the graduation lunch. Even more businesses and organizations shared information about their entities throughout the year as the Leadership class traveled from place to place learning about the various aspects of Fillmore County.

Patt Lentfer, Director of the Fillmore County Development Corporation, thanked the Leadership Development Committee members for setting up each of the leadership sessions throughout the year. Committee members are: Jean Engle, Jodi Kleinschmidt, Lynn Mussman, Amy Nelson, Jana Schelkopf, Gerald Slezak, Ronda Stokebrand, Kyle Svec, Karrie Waldron and Tyler Williams.

The Fillmore County Odegeo Leadership project is a countywide leadership program designed to identify, educate and develop leaders within Fillmore County. The class meets nine times a year to develop an awareness of the Fillmore County community by examining the major systems that contribute to patterns of life in the area. Persons interested in learning more about the Fillmore County Odegeo Leadership project should contact the Fillmore County Development Corporation at 759-4910, e-mail or go to

No comments: