Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Exeter-Milligan Trap Team Season Wrap-Up


Front row (l-r): Will Kallhoff, Rylee Rohren, Brenson Brandt, Levi Jurgensen, Bob Milton,

Kynnedy Bristol, Cheyenne Krupicka, Carly Uffelman and Jake Hoffschneider.

Second row (l-r): Deacon Erdkamp, Ty Svehla, Evan Brahmstedt, Jaxson Brandt, Rylan Bartels,

Jacob Spohn, Jacob Behrends, Hudson Linabery, Conner Uffelman, Josiah Oceguera, Tucker Simms,

and Jake Leif.

Third row (l-r): Coach Travis Combs, Andrew Vavra, Devin Harrison, Carver Kanode, Will Vyhnalek, Daysan Staskal, Chase Paulsen, Cade Kresak, Kain Combs, Trenton Naber, Charlie Hoarty, Grady Bresson , Cohen Harre, Coach Cory Engert, and Coach Shane Bristol.

Fourth row(l-r): Coach Jeff Combs, Coach Johnny Davis, Marlee Lloyd, Laura Casper, Vincent Warner, Andrew Warner, Kynli Combs, Mikey Bartu, Brett Kallhoff, Aidan Vavra, Draven Payne, Zach Spohn, Savana Krupicka, Lily Jeffries, Kierra Papik, Head Coach Justin Harre and Coach Doug Motis.

Team members not pictured: Tyler Due, Grady Arp, Blake Bruntz and Wyatt Hoffman



The Exeter-Milligan-Friend Trap team had another successful year as a part of the Central Nebraska Trapshooting Conference.

The team had 50 students participating this year. The team is divided into Juniors (age 12 through 8th grade) and Seniors (9 – 12th grade).  They competed with around 200 other shooters every Saturday morning at Crooked Creek club near Aurora. 

This year the team included 24 juniors and 26 seniors.  Each Saturday the seniors would shoot 50 clays to start the day at the 16 yard line followed by the juniors who shot 50. 

In the afternoon, each senior would shoot handicaps, shooting at the line which was half the distance of their score in the first round (i.e. if they shot a 46 out of 50 in the first round they would be at the 23 yard line for handicap).

Harre, along with coaches Travis Combs, Jeff Combs, Doug Motis, Shane Bristol, Cory Engert, and Johnny Davis kept busy observing the team and monitoring their shooting during practices and at the meets. 

There were a lot of highlights during the conference season.  The junior team of Jaxson Brandt, Grady Bresson, Cohen Harre, Carly Uffleman and Conner Uffleman consistently won the high junior team.  Jaxson Brandt and Cohen Harre won high Junior male and runner up awards throughout the season. Carly Uffelman was the top Junior female shooter each week during the season and Rylee Rohren received the runner up award a couple times this year. The female team of Carly and Rylee also won the top junior feamale team award several times.

Carver Kanode was recognized as the high overall Senior male once and was in several shoot-offs during the season for the same placement. Kain Combs also won high overall runner-up one week and won a yardage group. Cade Kresak won High 16 yard one week with a 50 straight and also won a couple yardage groups throughout the season. Zach Spohn won a yardage group in handicaps during the season.

At the end of the conference season, awards were passed out with Cade Kresak as a member of the All-Conference Senior Male 1st team. Kain Combs was on the All-Conference 3rd team.

Receiving Junior team honors were All-Conference first team members Cohen Harre and Grady Bresson. Placing on the All-Conference second team was Jaxson Brandt and Conner Uffleman was on the All-Conference third team.  Carly Uffleman was named Team Captain for the All-Conference Junior female first team.

The conference also sells raffle tickets for a gun and part of that fundraiser goes to fund scholarships. This year EMF team member Trenton Naber received a $750 scholarship from the Central Nebraska Trapshooting Conference.  The Rainwater Basin Pheasants Forever Chapter made a generous $1500 contribution towards scholarships for this year’s seniors competing in the Central Nebraska Trapshooting Conference.

The EMF team members pay no registration fees because each team member raised funds selling raffle tickets for a gun. Harre was encouraged to see more team members this year. The team has students from six area schools this year including Exeter-Milligan, Friend, McCool, York, Meridian, and Centennial.

Many of the team members participated in the Cornhusker High School shoot in Doniphan against 951 Jr shooters and 1250 Sr shooters from around the state and the nation.  Unfortunately the Cornhusker High School shoot rules do not allow teams to be comprised of shooters from different schools unless they are a 4H team.

The only EMF Trap team member to bring home hardware from the Cornhusker State shoot was Cohen Harre who won first in the junior division in a shoot off.  His initial score was a 98 and required another 50 shells to determine a winner. (see other story).

Graduating seniors on the team include Kresak, Naber, Daysan Staskal and Andrew Warner.  Harre is encouraging his team members to participate in shooting sports all year long to make next year’s team even better.

“Again we owe a big thank you to all of the communities and parents that help support the kids ” said Harre, “We had another fun year with a great group of kids and parents. We have so many great coaches that it really showed with the kids and how much they improved throughout the year. I’m excited for next year as we have some really good shooters that will be back and there are a lot of kids that are improving quickly and will be very good.



No comments: