Tuesday, May 14, 2019

Exeter-Milligan Honors Night

 Exeter-Milligan National Honor Society Members seated are Daisy Kanode, Natalie Staskal, Alexis Turrubiates, Georgia Meyer, and Cammie Harrison.  Middle row from the left are Katherine White, Macy Due, Josie Kresak, Kate Jansky, Caitlin Muprhy, Anna Sluka, Kayla Geiger, and Jaiden Papik.  Back row from the left are Trever Zelenka, Mitchell Manning, Spencer Pribyl, Jackson Beethe, Nick Hayek, Brock Steuben, and Clint Oldehoeft.

Newly inducted members of the Exeter-Milligan Chapter of the National Honor Society are front row seated, Natalie Staskal, Alexis Turrubiates, Georgia Meyer and Cammie Harrison.  Back row from the left are Daisy Kanode, Jackson Beethe, Brock Steuben, Clint Oldehoeft and Jaiden Papik.

Exeter-Milligan held their Arts and Academics Honors Program on Monday, May 6 in Exeter.

The guests and honorees were welcomed by Caitlin Murphy before the National Honor Society inducted nine new members.

New members initiated were Jackson Beethe, Cammie Harrison, Daisy Kanode, Georgia Meyer, Clint Oldehoeft, Jaiden Papik, Natalie Staskal, Brock Steuben and Alexis Turrubiates.

Miss Severson introduced the junior high math contest participants, the annual staff and the Actions Day participants.  Mrs. Pribyl recognized the senior high math contestants.

Mr. Marr introduced the junior and senior high quiz bowl teams and gave a brief summary of their season.  Four year participants in quiz bowl were Josie Kresak, Trever Zelenka, James Becker and Kate Jansky.

Mrs. Muprhy presented all of the awards for choir and band, recognizing each participant.  The Director’s award was presented to Jozie Kanode, the eighth grader with the highest points.  The Louis Armstrong Jazz award was presented to Kayla Geiger, who had contributed the most to the jazz band.  Macy Due earned the Semper Fidelis award, the senior with the second highest total of points and Peytan Brandt received the John Phillips Sousa Award the highest music points earned.

Mrs. Murphy noted that the band and choir received a special recognition as 69% of the Exeter-Milligan junior and senior high students participate in band.

Mrs. Barnhart presented the One Act and Speech awards and Mrs. Vossler presented the FCCLA officers and STAR participants and their awards.  Caitlin Murphy was recognized for her fifth place finish at state speech and her state runner-up in FCCLA star projects.  Murphy was also elected as a state officer in FCCLA and will represent the state at the national convention this summer.

Mrs. Kanode presented the art awards and recognized Katherine White as the Exeter-Milligan Artist of the Year.

Mrs. Kroll and Mrs, Kovanda presented the top GPA awards.  Troy Kallhoff had the highest gpa for seventh grade, Marcus Krupicka led the eighth grade and Braden Capek was highest in the ninth grade.  In tenth grade Jaiden Papik had the highest gpa, Caitlin Murphy had a perfect 100% gpa in the eleventh grade and Joel Klemm was the highest gpa among the twelfth graders.

Recognized by the Crossroads Conference for their high ACT scores were Josie Kresak, earning a bronze medal, Mitchell Manning and Trever Zelenka who received a silver medal and Joel Klemm and Spencer Pribyl were awarded gold medals.

Trever Zelenka received the American Legion Citizenship award and Caitlin Murphy received the American Legion Auxiliary Citizenship award.  Wesley Ronne was chosen for the all school citizenship award.  Trever Zelenka received the Neil Hassler outstanding senior award.

After the seniors were all presented their scholarships, the drawing for door prizes commenced and Kayla Geiger closed the program.

No comments: