Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Exeter Cub Scout Pack 218 Celebrates Blue and Gold

Exeter Pack 218 Cub Scouts lined up with their cars and their medals from Sunday nights Derby race.  They are pictured front row from the left, Josh Meyer,  Mikey Bartu,  Tyler Due,  and Troy Kallhoff.  Second row from the left are Ben Bartu, Devin Harrison, Blake Meyer, Jackson Beethe, Braden Capek and Clint Oldehoeft.

For Cub Scout Pack 218 the biggest race of the year was held in Exeter Sunday evening.

The Pack celebrated their annual Blue and Gold Banquet along with their Pinewood Derby at the Exeter American Legion Home.

The Scouts began the evening with Webelos Scout Blake Meyer leading the flag ceremony and Bear Scout Braden Capek leading a prayer for the food.

After the families enjoyed a potluck meal, the scouts took turns describing the decorations they had created for the banquet.  Their theme was ocean creatures and they had also been studying recycling so they created ocean creatures out of recycled materials.  Two of their favorite decorations were ocean in a bottle and jellyfish in a bottle.  The boys spent several meetings creating the decorations.

After a presentation on the Friends of Scouting program by Jayne Jensen, the boys received the rank badges.  Each of the ten boys completed the requirements to meet their rank.

Earning their Bobcat badge and Tiger Cub badge were Troy Kallhoff, Tyler Due, Devin Harrison, Josh Meyer and Mikey Bartu.  Earning the Bear rank were Braden Capek and Ben Bartu and earning the Webelos rank were Jackson Beethe, Blake Meyer and Clint Oldehoeft.

Running the Pinewood Derby for the pack this year as he has done for over 35 years was Stanley Rhodes of rural Cordova.  He along with Lance Larsen and Robert Rhodes set up the track, judged the show portion of the derby, helped the scouts run the races and tallied the wins to announce the race standings.

This year the stock race winners were Tyler Due, first place, Jackson Beethe, second place, and Clint Oldehoeft in third. In the Modified race division Ben Bartu came in first, with Josh Meyer in second and Blake Meyer in third.  As far as the show competition in the stock show Mikey Bartu took first, Troy Kallhoff was second and Tyler Due was third.  In the Modified show Ben Bartu was first, with Blake Meyer in second and Josh Meyer in third.  Cubmaster’s choice awards went to Devin Harrison, first, and Braden Capek, second.

The scouts will now have the opportunity to take their cars to the Prairie Winds District Pinewood Derby held March 16th in Seward.

No comments: